top of page

Mr. Raymond So

Executive President, Daye Transmedia Group

Mr. Raymond So graduated from the Chinese University of Hong Kong with a Master degree in Business Administration. His advertising career began at DDB Needham Hong Kong in 1981.

Raymond joined J. Walter Thompson in 1986 to set up JWT China from zero. He is one of the first pioneers when advertising was first introduced back into China after 1949. Raymond helped to launch the Lux brand; built the IBM leadership and established the Woolmark as the most prominent trademark in China. Raymond created many campaigns which were the first in Chinese advertising history.

In 1988, Raymond moved to Taiwan and founded JWT Taiwan. JWT became number one in the market on its fifth anniversary. JWT Taiwan continues its leadership in both business performance and creativity until now and is highly recognized by the industry in Taiwan.

Raymond was promoted to Chairman & CEO, JWT North East Asia in 1997. He was also appointed the first Chinese Director in the JWT Worldwide Board. Under Raymond's leadership, JWT North East Asia became one of the fastest growing, most profitable and well managed regions in the JWT world.

Nov 2001, Raymond joined BBDO as Chairman, Asia Pacific. Under his leadership, BBDO Asia Pacific enjoyed excellent growth and three agencies were named "Agency of the Year" in their respective countries in 2004. BBDO Asia Pacific was also named "Agency network of the year” for two consecutive years by Campaign Brief Asia.


Raymond is a highly recognized industry leader. He served as Chairman of the 4As and IAA Chapter President in Taiwan. In 2002, Raymond was elected as the first Chinese World Vice President of the IAA and served six years in that capacity. He became Chairman of the Asian Federation of Advertising Associations since 2016. Raymond has served as a member of the CUHK Chung Chi College, Board of Trustees since 2010. Raymond received many industry awards including: IAA World Champions Award: "Outstand Contribution Award" by Taiwan Ministry of Economy ; Life Time Achievement Award by Busan Creative Festival for his contribution to the industry.

bottom of page